Skip to main content

General Overview and Overseer Listing

In accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth and regulations enacted by the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education, the composition, duties and powers of the Salem State University Board of Trustees are articulated within the university's bylaws. The board is charged with the fiduciary management of the institution, including determination of fees, establishment of personnel management policy, staff services, and the general business of the institution. Among its responsibilities, the board elects the president with the approval of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education, adopts an annual plan of financial operation, awards degrees in approved fields, and develops the mission statement for the university consistent with the mission of the Commonwealth's system of public higher education.

The board of trustees consists of 11 voting members. Ten members are appointed by the governor, at least two are alumni of the university and one of whom is elected thereto by the university alumni association.  Elected alumni members shall be elected every five years. Members are appointed to serve for five year terms, but no member shall be appointed for more than two consecutive terms. Student members are elected by the student body and serve one year.

Regular meetings of the full board are held four times annually and are open to the public with the exception of executive sessions. Committees of the board convene prior to each open meeting and on an as-needed basis. The board currently has five standing committees: executive, academic affairs and student life, risk management and audit, finance and facilities, advancement, marketing and communications. Meetings usually take place on the Salem State University campus.

Contact the trustees.


Academic Year 2023

Cherié Butts, chair 

  • Teresa J. Chisholm 

  • Magnolia Contreras 

  • James Lampassi ’81

  • Yalile Maldonado ’09, ’20G 

  • Paul Mattera 

  • Samanda Morales ’98

  • Ruthanne Russell ’82, vice-chair 

  • Billy Walsh ’23

SSU Trustee Community Open Forum Topics: If you'd like to suggest a question or topic for an upcoming full Board of Trustees meeting, please do so here.

Board Meeting Calendar

Academic Year 2023 

Committee Meetings – begin at 3 pm unless otherwise noted

Wednesday, September. 28, 2022 [Agenda]

Wednesday, October 12, 2022 at 3:30 pm (Audit Committee only)

Wednesday, November 9, 2022 at 6:00 pm (Executive Committee only) 

Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Thursday, May 18, 2023

Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Board Meetings – begin at 5 pm unless otherwise noted

Wednesday, October 12, 2022 [Agenda]

Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

Wednesday, June 7, 2023

Special Meetings

Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Off-site – December 16, 2022

Posting of Meeting Agendas

Except in cases of emergency, final agendas with anticipated discussion topics are posted 48 hours in advance of the meeting.

These meetings are currently held virtually. Login information will be provided within the posted agendas.


Back to top