Skip to main content

2021 Thomas G. Lathrop Awards

Excellence in mathematics and computer science

It is with pleasure that we announce the recipients of the 2021 Thomas G. Lathrop Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Computer Science. This award, presented annually since 1980, recognizes students for their success in their coursework and for their contributions to the discipline. The 2021 winners are:

  • Ahmad Alhayek: Computer Science
  • Alexsandra Muise: Mathematics
  • Kim Tran: Mathematics

The award is made in memory of Professor Thomas Lathrop, an especially well-liked and highly regarded colleague in the mathematics department, who passed away in 1978. Professor Lathrop was also instrumental in giving computer usage and computer science education a big start at the college in the 1970s.

Brian J Travers
Back to top