Skip to main content

Elizabeth Williams Wade Award


Elizabeth Williams Wade Award

Established in 1980, the Elizabeth Williams Wade Award is presented to an alumnus/a who has made outstanding contributions to Salem State University. The award was established and is awarded by members of the Salem State University Alumni Association Board of Directors. 

Eligibility Criteria

  • Each recipient must have attained notable achievement or made a lasting contribution to Salem State University through his or her philanthropic and voluntary endeavors.
  • Each recipient must have earned a degree from Salem State University.
  • It is preferred that the recipient attend the awards ceremony to accept his or her award.
  • The recipients are eligible to receive a specific award once but are eligible to receive a different award in the future.
  • The awards committee is not obligated to select a recipient from each category if applicants do not adequately meet the requirements.
  • No member of the Alumni Association Board of Directors may self-nominate for the award.

Nomination Requirements

  • A separate nomination form must be completed for each nominee.
  • As part of the nomination form, nominators must submit a 500 word or more statement establishing the candidate's qualifications with clear and concise detail as to why he/she should be selected for the award.
  • The awards committee, comprised of members of the Salem State University Alumni Board, reserves the right to conduct independent research on a nominee. The committee will only consider information when it is part of a submitted nomination. 
  • The awards committee will also not consider nominations that consist solely of a nominee's resume. 
  • Incomplete nomination packets will NOT be considered.

Past Award Recipients

Year Recipient
2019 David Surface '88
2018 Jane '60, '62G and Jim '60 Moroney
2017 Kim Gassett-Schiller '83
2017 Henry Bertolon '74
2016 James M. Muse '83
2015 Andrea Liftman '75G
2014 Staff Sgt. Michael J. Gormalley '73
2013 Sally A. Cuffe '60, '64G and Walter Cuffe (posthumously) '62, '66G
2012 Donald Brennan '60, '64G
2011 Alfred J. Viselli '59, '64G
2010 Lawrence McCully '80
2009 Joanne K. Ricciardiello '68
2008 Edna Mauriello '44
2007 Elaine Dacey '64
2006 Rita Skinner '38
2005 Frederick Sannella '64
2004 A. Thomas Billings '72
2003 Richard H. Ayer '71
2002 John H. Wall '38
2001 Dorothy M. Foley '48
2000 Dr. Robert J. Healey '50
1999 Frank A. Lillo '64
1998 Sandra J. Purcell '59
1998 Mary L. Enos '56
1997 Deirdre A. Sartorelli '83
1996 Emilio A. DeFelice
1996 Mary A. DiFelice '36
1995 John W. Barrett
1994 Karen M. Morrissey '71
1993 Ruth E. Manghue '41
1992 Mary V. Hourihan '36
1991 Josephine E. Kennedy '72
1990 Michael R. O'Keefe '73
1989 Beatrice D. Moody '29
1987 Joseph F. Dalton, Esq. '59
1986 Mary A. Bozoian '42
1985 Dr. John L. George '53
1984 Dr. Mary A. Bradley '36
1983 Francis M. Buckley '40
1982 Dr. Marilyn E. Flaherty '54
1981 M. Gertrude Gould, 1910
1980 Elizabeth W. Wade 1913
Back to top