Skip to main content

Salem State Series

Salem State Series Information

Fall 2019

Rebecca Eaton, PBS Masterpiece Theatre

Rebecca Eaton took the helm of the PBS series MASTERPIECE THEATRE and MYSTERY! in 1985, and later oversaw a highly successful relaunch of MASTERPIECE, which attracted a new generation of viewers. She has brought American audiences Hilary Mantel’s “Wolf Hall”, the recent hits “Victoria”, “Sherlock”, “Poldark” and “Downton Abbey” — the most-watched drama in PBS history. Under her leadership, MASTERPIECE has won 62 Primetime Emmy Awards®, 16 Peabody Awards, six Golden Globes®, and two Academy Award® nominations. In 2011, Eaton was named one of TIME's 100 most influential people.                                                                  

Headshot of Jared Bowen

Jared Bowen (moderator)

Executive arts editor Jared Bowen is the Emmy award-winning host of the weekly television series, “Open Studio with Jared Bowen”, which takes viewers inside the creative process, offering a blend of profiles, performances, and contemporary exhibitions by artists in Greater Boston, New England, and across the country. He is a contributor to WGBH-TV’s nightly news magazine program, Greater Boston and appears regularly on 89.7 WGBH, where he covers the latest happenings in the region’s theater, art, music, dance and film on WGBH’s Morning Edition and Boston Public Radio.


Spring 2019

Sam Kennedy, Boston Red Sox organization

Sam Kennedy, of the World Series Champions, the Boston Red Sox is entering his 18th season with the club and his third as president and chief executive officer. In addition to his role with the Red Sox, he also acts as chief executive of Fenway Sports Management, a sports marketing and sales agency that is a sister company to the Red Sox under the Fenway Sports Group family. Outside of the 81 days a year of baseball, Kennedy has also been instrumental in the transformation of Fenway Park into a year-round venue, including concerts, hockey, soccer, football and even a “Big Air” skiing and snowboarding competition requiring construction of a 150-foot high ramp from centerfield to home plate. Kennedy has received many recognitions during his time with the Red Sox, placing him in the company of the most influential and creative young professionals in the business of sports.

Steve Burton, WBZ-TV


Steve Burton (moderator)

Steve Burton is a sports anchor and reporter for WBZ-TV News on WBZ-TV and on sister station myTV38 in Boston. A New England native, he joined WBZ-TV in August 1994. Prior to that Burton worked as a sports anchor and reporter for New England Sports Network (NESN) since 1988. While at NESN, Burton hosted the pre and post-game shows for the Red Sox. 


Paul Farmer MD, PhD moderated by David Walton, MD, MPH and Jim Ansara '10H

2018 Speaker Series with Paul Farmer MD, PhD, John Keenan, president Salem State University and moderators

John Legend moderated by WBZ-TVs Lisa Hughes

John Legend at the Salem State Series

Ed Davis and Richard DesLauries moderated by Lisa Hughes 

Tom Brady and Jim Gray 

Tom Brady with Jim Gray

Cory Booker
Tony Kushner and Robin Young

Bobby Valentine and Peter Gammons

Newt Gingrich
John Irving

Ted Kennedy Jr.
Dr. Deepak Chopra

Jay Leno
Bob and Lee Woodruff

Bill Belichick 
George F. Will

Cal Ripken Jr.
President George H.W. Bush and Natalie Jacobson
Tom Wolfe
Maya Angelou

Robert Redford and Joyce Kulhawik
Patrick Buchanan
Bianca Jagger

Thomas Friedman
David Halberstam
Jack and Suzy Welch and Anne Driscoll ’76

Goldie Hawn
Jesse Ventura
Christopher Reeve and Dr. Robin Cook

Dr. Christiane Northrup
Jamling Norgay and Peter Hillary
Rudy Giuliani

David McCullough
Dr. Jane Goodall
Mia Hamm and Dale Arnold
The Motley Fool

Mark Russell
Molly Ivins
Bill Russell and Mike Lynch
President William Jefferson Clinton

Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw
George Mitchell
Walter Cronkite and Natalie Jacobson

Beverly Sills
George Stephanopoulos
Doug Flutie

Benazir Bhutto
Dave Barry
Barbara Bush

Mike Wallace
Joan Rivers
Shimon Peres

Brian Mulroney
Ken Burns
Ann Richards

Mary Matalin and James Carville
Colin L. Powell
Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu

Capitol Steps
Mary Higgins Clark
President George H.W. Bush

Mario Cuomo
Gloria Steinem
Mary Fisher

Marvin Kalb
Judy Woodruff
Robert Fulghum

William Bennett
Alex Haley
Ed Koch

C. Everett Koop
Pat Schroeder
Mark Russell

Mario Cuomo
Helen Thomas
Elie Wiesel

Thomas “Tip” O’Neill
Lesley Stahl
Abba Eban

Geraldine Ferraro
Ed Bradley
Helmut Schmidt

Jeane Kirkpatrick
Sam Donaldson
Reverend Jesse Jackson

President Jimmy Carter
Doris Kearns Goodwin
Kevin McCarthy

Alexander Haig
Howard K. Smith
Art Buchwald

President Gerald Ford
Douglas Kiker
Henry Kissinger

Back to top