Massachusetts Children's Book Award

MCBA logo

2016 MCBA Winner and Honor Books


School registration information will be collected at the same time votes are cast in March; there is no longer a need to register in advance.


After finding that many children lose interest in books after reaching the intermediate grades, Dr. Helen Constant founded the Massachusetts Children's Book Award Program in 1975. Designed for Massachusetts schoolchildren in grades 4-6, the program briefly included grades 7-9 from 1978 through 1983.

Today, fourth-, fifth-, and sixth-graders are given a master list of book titles. After reading five of the books, students may vote for their favorite. The list is compiled from nominations of participating teachers, librarians and interested publishers. A selection committee works with the nominations and chooses 25 titles to appear on the master list.

Criteria for the master list include literary quality, genres variety, representation of diverse cultural groups, and reader appeal. Originally, only books published in the years immediately before the award were eligible. Between 1983 and 1995, however, older titles became eligible. Now, only books published within five years of the award year are eligible. Titles on the master list are all available in paperback. The author of the winning book receives a plaque to commemorate the award.

The award is sponsored by Salem State University.

MCBA Information

2017 MCBA Master List

Nominate Books for MCBA

2016 Official Online Ballot and School/Library Registration

2016 School or Library In-House Ballot

2015-16 Master List

Requirements and deadlines

Letter from 2015 award winner Kristin Levine

2015 classroom certificate

Recent MCBA Winners and Master Lists

2014-15 Winners and Master Lists

2013-14 Winners and Master Lists

2012-13 Winners and Master Lists

2011-12 Winners and Master Lists