Skip to main content

Accepting Nominations for the 2020 Salem State Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award

The Salem State University Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Award is given annually to a Salem State student, alumna/us, faculty member, and staff or administrator for their outstanding and significant contributions to the cause of freedom, justice, peace, and equality. This marks the fourth year that this award will be extended to one of our alumni that have demonstrated the same level of commitment to these causes.

The recipient’s actions and behaviors in working either on or off campus for the betterment of the community should be in a manner consistent with the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. These contributions can include the areas of education, diversity, race relations, social justice and economic empowerment. Written nominations must explicitly address how the nominee has visibly demonstrated:

  • Courage and conviction in valuing differences
  • Commitment to “seeing beyond borders” by building inclusions
  • Acceptance of challenge and risk in achieving goals for the greater good
  • Compassion for humanity

Submit a nomination today! The deadline for nominations is January 17, 2020.

Inclusive Excellence
Back to top