Skip to main content

Salem State is closely monitoring the coronavirus outbreak. Learn more about our response.

2020 Mathematics Awards

The Thomas G. Lathrop Award and the Jane Claffey Service Award

The mathematics department would like to congratulate the winners of the 2020 Thomas G. Lathrop Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Computer Science. Awarded annually since 1980, this honor is given to the top students in their field, as determined by their faculty. Recipients are determined by considering both the performance in their major classes as well as their other academic endeavors. The 2020 recipients are:

Mathematics: Sagar Ghimire and Adam Heutlinger

Computer Science: Sagar Ghimire and Aria Kieras

The Jane Claffey Service Award, now in its third year, is presented to those students who go above and beyond in their commitment to helping other students succeed with their academic pursuits. This award is in honor of Jane Claffey, who was the math lab supervisor for over 30 years and her dedication to helping students will never be equalled. The 2020 recipient of this award is Jacob Doiron.

These awards are usually presented during a late Spring ceremony, but due to the current state of affairs, we will honor these students in person when we resume campus life.

Brian J Travers
Back to top