About the School of Education

School of Education logo

2013 NCATE Self Study Exhibit Room


At Salem State University, we have a proud 160-year tradition of preparing new educators through our undergraduate programs and supporting experienced teachers through our graduate programs. Our award-winning graduates are educating children and adults across the globe.

The School of Education comprises two departments:

  • Childhood Education and Care
  • Secondary and Higher Education

Together these two departments offer more than 40 programs, all of which are approved by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (MDESE), and nationally recognized by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

Our programs are supported by strong relationships with more than 50 area school systems from Boston to the New Hampshire border. In addition to area school districts, our student teachers may do their practice teaching in one of the college's four laboratory schools: The Robert L. Ford School in Lynn, the Horace Mann and Saltonstall schools in Salem, and Salem State University's own preschool on South Campus.

The undergraduate and graduate curricula offer concentrations in early childhood-, elementary- and middle school education. In the graduate school, specialty programs such as reading, special education, teaching English language learners, educational technology, educational leadership, higher education, among others, are also available.

The School of Education is part of the College of Health and Human Services, but we collaborate with the College of Arts and Sciences to offer teacher preparation programs in secondary and specialty education subject areas such as teaching English, mathematics, history, visual art, the sciences, and others.

Learn how Salem State University's School of Education can help you achieve your goals by navigating our site for more information.