Five Salem State students recognized as Paul E. Tsongas scholars in ceremony at Massachusetts State House

Amy Jones of Westminster

At ceremonies at the Massachusetts State House on March 27, five Salem State students were among the 41 Massachusetts public university students recognized as 2010-2011 Paul E. Tsongas Scholars. They were:

Kathryn Morris, an education major from Ipswich

Kimberly Clapp, a biology/chemistry major from Boxford

Erin Burke, a geography major from Salem

Amy Jones, a communications/art major from Westminster

Rachel Ann Vera, a nursing student from Northbridge

The Paul Tsongas Scholarship Program, which honors the late Massachusetts senator, recognizes outstanding achievement by Massachusetts public higher education students who have graduated from high school within three years of the annual award with a grade point average of 3.75 and an SAT score of at least 1200, and who meet the residency requirement for tuition classification at the commonwealth’s state universities. Students awarded Tsongas scholarships receive full tuition and the payment of all related fees at any Massachusetts state university.

Photo: Amy Jones of Westminster, Massachusetts