AAG Scholarships Available

AAG logo

Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards in Geographic Science

The current application deadline is October 15, 2009.

The Association of American Geographer's Marble Fund for Geographic Science is pleased to announce the 2010 Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards. These awards promote and recognize excellence in academic performance by undergraduate students in the United States and Canada who bridge geographic science and computer science in their studies. These awards, together with the William L. Garrison Award for Best Dissertation in Computational Geography, are sponsored by the Marble Fund and are supported by donations to the Fund. In the case of the current awards, he support of Mr. Jack Dangermond and Mrs. Grace Boyle is gratefully acknowledged.
The undergraduate awards are named for Dr. Duane Marble, creator of the Marble Fund, and for the late Dr. A. R. (Ray) Boyle who was a major Canadian contributor to the early development of both computer cartography and geographic information systems. Winners of the 2009 awards were Joanna Merson of the University of Victoria and Kenneth Robertson of Central Michigan University. Both worked as ESRI Interns during the Summer of 2009 and Ms. Merson will spend the fall in Switzerland as the winner of the supplemental MicroGIS Foundation for Spatial Analysis (MFSA) fellowship. 

Each of the Marble-Boyle Undergraduate Achievement Awards consists of a cash prize of $700, a $200 credit for books published by the ESRI Press and a certificate of recognition. Initially, up to three Marble-Boyle Awards will be made available each year. Additionally, ESRI has agreed to provide priority consideration to any of the awardees who may be interested in participating in their Summer Intern Program. The awardees are also eligible to apply for a research fellowship offered by the MicroGIS Foundation for Spatial Analysis (MFSA). The MFSA fellowship provides access to their research facilities in Lausanne, Switzerland, including transportation to the facility and housing costs for up to four months. Formal presentation of the awards will be made at the annual AAG awards luncheon. Awardees are encouraged, but not required, to attend. 
Applications will be reviewed by the Marble Fund's Undergraduate Achievement Award Committee. After review, the Committee will recommend up to three applications to the Marble Fund Trustees as winners. Final awards will be made by the Trustees. The conditions for application are:
1.   Applicants must be enrolled in a full–time program of undergraduate study at an accredited United States or Canadian college or university. 
2.  At the time of the application, the applicant must be no more than twelve months from graduation. 
3.  Applicants must demonstrate a reasonable intent to embark upon a career or further education that will make use of their joint geographic science and computer science studies.
4.  There is no limit with respect to the number of students who can apply from a single institution. However, only one student per year from a single institution may receive an award.
5.  Applicants do not need to be members of the Association of American Geographers, but they are strongly encouraged to consider membership.
Full information on the awards and the application process may be found at: