President's Executive Cabinet

Stan Cahill Photo

Dr. Stanley Cahill, Executive Vice President of Administration and Risk Management, scahill@salemstate.edu, ext. 6400
Dr. Cahill joined the university community in 1986, bringing with him nearly four decades of higher education experience. Before assuming his current position, he served as vice president of student life and dean of students at Salem State. Prior to that, he served as director of student life, and housing and residence life at West Chester University in Pennsylvania. Dr. Cahill holds a PhD and an MA from Michigan State University, and an MEd and a BS in education from Kent State University in Ohio.

Kristin Esterberg Photo

Dr. Kristin Esterberg, Provost and Academic Vice President, kesterberg@salemstate.edu, ext. 6246
Dr. Esterberg joined the university community in January 2009, bringing with her more than 25 years of higher education experience. Previously, she served as an associate professor of sociology at the University of Massachusetts-Lowell, and recently held the positions of deputy provost and associate provost at UMass-Lowell. Dr. Esterberg holds a PhD and an MA in sociology from Cornell University, and a BA from Boston University in philosophy and political science. She also attended the American Council on Education Institute for New Chief Academic Officers.

Scott James photo

Scott James, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Life, sjames@salemstate.edu, ext. 6243
Dr. James joined the Salem State University community in 2008 and has more than 20 years of experience in higher education. Before joining the team here at Salem State, he served at Lesley University, first as the university registrar and then as the associate vice president of enrollment management. Dr. James holds an EdD in higher education leadership and policy from Vanderbilt University, an MEd in administration, planning and social policy from Harvard University, and a BA in psychology from Boston University.

Cynthia McGurren, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, cmcgurren@salemstate.edu, ext.7591
Ms. McGurren joined the Salem State community in 1983 and has over 20 years of higher education, public affairs and, more recently, fundraising experience. She has served as vice president since 2004, during which time the university's endowment has increased by 120 percent. Previous positions at the university include director of college relations and special assistant for external affairs for Salem State president emerita Nancy Harrington. From Dec. 1996 to Apr. 1999, Ms. McGurren was the district coordinator for U.S. Representative John F. Tierney. She holds a BS in general studies from Salem State University. 

Andrew Soli picture

Andrew Soll, Vice President of Finance and Facilities, asoll@salemstate.edu, ext. 6120
Mr. Soll joined the university community in July 2008, bringing with him over 30 years of higher education experience. Before joining Salem State, he served as vice chancellor at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, and, for 10 years, as vice president of administration and finance at Wayne State College in Nebraska. Mr. Soll holds an MBA, along with an MA in music, from the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign, and a BA in music from Oberlin College in Ohio.

Tom Torello photo

Tom Torello, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, ttorello@salemstate.edu, ext. 2591
Mr. Torello joined the university community in 2012 and has worked in higher education since 1995. Before coming to Salem State University, he served as the vice president of university relations at Pace University in New York. Mr. Torello attended the Management Development Program at Harvard Graduate School of Education and holds a BS in communications from Ithaca College.

Beth Bower Photo

Beth Bower, Chief of Staff to the President, bbower@salemstate.edu, ext. 7757
Ms. Bower joined Salem State in December 2007, bringing over 20 years of government affairs and higher education experience to this position. She previously served as the special assistant to the provost and archivist, and director of the Moakley Institute at Suffolk University, as well as director of external affairs for the Central Artery Project. Ms. Bower holds an MA in anthropology from Brown University, and a BA in history from Simmons College.

Neal Fogg photo

Neal Fogg, Assistant Provost of Planning and Evaluation, nfogg@salemstate.edu, ext. 2495
Dr. Fogg joined the university community in 2011 and has worked in higher education since 1999. Before assuming his current position, he served as the director of strategic enrollment research at Northeastern University. Dr. Fogg holds a PhD in economics from Northeastern University, where he also received his MA and BA degrees.

Cabinet Members for Academic Year 2012-2013

Patricia Ainsworth, chief information officer, Information Technology Services, painsworth@salemstate.edu, ext. 6446

Karen M. Cady, senior director, University Relations, kcady@salemstate.edu, ext. 7503

Susan Cirillo, dean, Library, Instructional, and Learning Support, scirillo@salemstate.edu, ext. 6232

Corey Cronin, director, Marketing and Creative Services, ccronin@salemstate.edu, ext. 7517

Cheryl Crounse, campaign director, Institutional Advancement, ccrounse@salemstate.edu, ext. 7527

Neal DeChillo, associate provost, Academic Affairs, and dean, College of Health and Human Services, ndechillo@salemstate.edu, ext. 6630

Joseph Donovan, associate vice president of finance, Finance, jdonovan@salemstate.edu, ext. 6119

K. Brewer Doran, dean, Bertolon School of Business, kdoran@salemstate.edu, ext. 6640

Jean Fleischman, executive assistant to the president/secretary to the Board of Trustees, jfleischman@salemstate.edu, ext. 7765

Bonnie Galinski, associate dean for admissions, Enrollment Management, bgalinski@salemstate.edu, ext. 2532

Carol Glod, dean, School of Graduate Studies, cglod@salemstate.edu, ext. 7044

Amie Goodwin, assistant provost, Academic Affairs, agoodwin@salemstate.edu, ext. 6241

Arlene Greenstein, dean, School of Professional and Continuing Education, agreenstein@salemstate.edu, ext. 6324

Gene Labonte, director, University Police, glabonte@salemstate.edu, ext. 2370

Beth Marshall, assistant vice president, Humans Resources and Equal Opportunity, bmarshall@salemstate.edu, ext. 6022

Megan Miller, university registrar, Registrar's Office, mmiller1@salemstate.edu, ext. 7537

Shawn Newton, assistant dean of students, Student Life, snewton@salemstate.edu, ext. 6442

Jude Nixon, dean, College of Arts and Sciences, jnixon@salemstate.edu, ext. 7267

Eileen O'Brien, assistant vice president, Alumni Affairs and Annual Giving, eobrien@salemstate.edu, ext. 7529

Timothy Shea, director, Athletics, tshea@salemstate.edu, ext. 6517

James Stoll, associate vice president and dean of students, Student Life, jstoll@salemstate.edu, ext. 6401

Christine Sullivan, executive director, Enterprise Center, ex-officio, csullivan@enterprisectr.org, ext. 7039