President's Executive Cabinet

Scott James photo

Scott James, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Life,, ext. 6243
Dr. James joined the Salem State University community in 2008 and has more than 20 years of experience in higher education. Before joining the team here at Salem State, he served at Lesley University, first as the university registrar and then as the associate vice president of enrollment management. Dr. James holds an EdD in higher education leadership and policy from Vanderbilt University, an MEd in administration, planning and social policy from Harvard University, and a BA in psychology from Boston University.

Cynthia McGurren, Vice President of Institutional Advancement,, ext.7591
Ms. McGurren joined the Salem State community in 1983 and has over 20 years of higher education, public affairs and, more recently, fundraising experience. She has served as vice president since 2004, during which time the university's endowment has increased by 120 percent. Previous positions at the university include director of college relations and special assistant for external affairs for Salem State president emerita Nancy Harrington. From Dec. 1996 to Apr. 1999, Ms. McGurren was the district coordinator for U.S. Representative John F. Tierney. She holds a BS in general studies from Salem State University. 

Tom Torello photo

Tom Torello, Vice President of Marketing and Communications,, ext. 2591
Mr. Torello joined the university community in 2012 and has worked in higher education since 1995. Before coming to Salem State University, he served as the vice president of university relations at Pace University in New York. Mr. Torello attended the Management Development Program at Harvard Graduate School of Education and holds a BS in communications from Ithaca College.

Beth Bower Photo

Beth Bower, Chief of Staff to the President,, ext. 7757
Ms. Bower joined Salem State in December 2007, bringing over 20 years of government affairs and higher education experience to this position. She previously served as the special assistant to the provost and archivist, and director of the Moakley Institute at Suffolk University, as well as director of external affairs for the Central Artery Project. Ms. Bower holds an MA in anthropology from Brown University, and a BA in history from Simmons College.

Cabinet Members for Academic Year 2014-2015

Patricia Ainsworth, chief information officer, Information Technology Services,, ext. 6446

Karen M. Cady, senior director, University Relations,, ext. 7503

Joseph Cambone, dean, School of Education,, ext. 6266

Mary Churchill, associate provost for innovation & partnerships, Academic Affairs,, ext. 6324

Susan Cirillo, dean, Library, Instructional, and Learning Support,, ext. 6232

Corey Cronin, senior director, Marketing and Creative Services,, ext. 7517

Cheryl Crounse, campaign director, Institutional Advancement,, ext. 7527

Neal DeChillo, associate provost, Academic Affairs, and dean, College of Health and Human Services,, ext. 6630

Joseph Donovan, associate vice president of finance, Finance,, ext. 6119

K. Brewer Doran, dean, Bertolon School of Business,, ext. 6640

Jean Fleischman, executive assistant to the president/secretary to the Board of Trustees,, ext. 7765

Bonnie Galinski, associate dean for admissions, Enrollment Management,, ext. 2532

Richard Kelley, director, Budget & Payroll Services,, ext. 2712

Gene Labonte, director, University Police,, ext. 2370

Adria Leach, director, External Affairs,, ext. 7524

Beth Marshall, assistant vice president, Humans Resources and Equal Opportunity,, ext. 6022

Eileen O'Brien, assistant vice president, Alumni Affairs and Annual Giving,, ext. 7529

Samuel Ohannesian, director, Enrollment Management Services & Veterans Affairs,

Bruce Perry, assistant dean, Enrollment Management and Student Life,, ext. 2823

Timothy Shea, director, Athletics,, ext. 6517

James Stoll, associate vice president and dean of students, Student Life,, ext. 6401

Greg Smith, executive director, Enterprise Center, ex-officio,, ext. 7039

Michele Sweeney, interim dean, College of Arts & Sciences,, ext. 6582